Home About Us Links Contact Us Photo Gallery Timber Sales

    Commercial Forestry Services Ltd.
(CFS) has provided professional forestry expertise to private clients since 1986 and also provides the Technical Directorate and Secretariat for the Irish Timber Growers Association (ITGA).

Client services include forestry consultancy and related project management services.


Providing forestry, management and advisory services to a wide range of corporate and private clients.

Undertaking the Technical Directorate and Secretariat for the Irish Timber Growers Association (ITGA).
- The Irish Timber Growers Association is the national representative body of private woodland owners in Ireland.
We provide advice and information services to the Association and its membership.

Ongoing management of woodlands including woodlands certified to International Sustainable Forest Management Standards.

Forestry related Project Management

Accepting the RDS Forestry Award for Clonad Woodlands were Oisin Meagher, Donal Whelan and Stacey Bradley

The 2019 RDS - FS Production Forestry Award was awarded to the IForUT owned Clonad Woodlands managed by Donal Whelan of CFS. Accepting the RDS Forestry Award were Oisin Meagher (IForUT), Donal Whelan CFS (Forest Manager), and Stacey Bradley (IForUT).

Past and Ongoing CFS projects include:

Commercial Forestry Services recently led an international consortium of partners in undertaking a group forest certification project which resulted in doubling the number of internationally recognised forest management certificates in Ireland.
Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine with responsibility for forestry, Andrew Doyle, TD congratulated the North East Forestry Certification Club and the Forest Owners Co-operative Society, at a function in the Royal Marine Hotel, Dun Laoghaire, on achieving group certification. Pictured at the presentation of the group certificates were (first row from left to right) Aine Woods, Martin Barrett (NEFCC), Martin Oakes (NEFCC), John Sherlock (NEFCC), Mechteld Schuller (Commercial Forestry Services), Minister of State Andrew Doyle TD, Phil Webb (UKFCG), Paul Sandys (UKFCG), Tim McCarthy (FOCS), John Casey (Teagasc), Patrick Barrett (DAFM), Linda Coghlan (The Forestry Company). (second row from left to right) John Woods (NEFCC), John Roche (The Forestry Company), Hugh McMahon (NEFCC), Gerard Sheridan (NEFCC), Brian White (NEFCC), Donal Whelan (Commercial Forestry Services), Joseph Kilmartin (NEFCC), Andy Grundy (Soil Association Certification), Des Drew (NEFCC), Peter Farrelly (NEFCC), William Melville (FOCS), Michael Greany (FOCS) and Albert Kelly (FOCS)

Commercial Forestry Services Ltd., 17 Castle Street, Dalkey, County Dublin, Ireland.
Tel: + 353 1 2350988 - Fax: + 353 1 2350416 - Email: donalwhelan@forests.ie